Poorly Kept Secrets

by Ray Harris

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $9.99 USD


Never Happened At All (free) 03:34
Thunderbird 03:53


Produced by Ray Harris and Stephen K. Donnelly

All words & music Ray Harris ©2012 SOCAN All Rights Reserved except: "She Follows Me Wherever I Go" music Ray Harris, words Ray Harris & Stephen K. Donnelly ©2012 SOCAN; "Getting Smaller" words & music Ray Harris/Tom Pechloff/Don Kenny ©2009 SOCAN


released January 13, 2012

Ray Harris - lead vocals, acoustic 6-string and 12-string guitars, mandolin

The BSOB's:
- Standup Steve Donnelly - electric guitar, harmony vocals
- Anastasios "Ernie Legend" Basiliadis - drums, percussion & inappropriate banter
- Jamie Guitar - upright bass, electric bass
- Ryan Barwin - pedal steel, dobro

Exceptions, additions and poorly kept secrets:

Never Happened At All
• Tom Pechloff - keyboards
• John Cormier - electric guitar (solo only)
• Standup Steve - electric bass

Smoking Like A Train
• Al Wood - harmonica
• Tom Pechloff - keyboards
• Standup Steve - upright bass, baritone guitar

Take Back This Heart
• Greg Kelly - high vocal harmony
• Standup Steve - whistling

• Tom Pechloff - keyboards

Caffeine & Mayo
• Patsy Clash - duet vocal
• Al Wood - harmonica

Mighty Lonesome Way To Live
• Jack Arnold - saxophone
• John Cormier - all electric guitar

Pillar To Post
• Alanna George - backing vox
• John Cormier - lead electric guitar
• Tom Pechloff - keyboards
• Ray Harris - rhythm electric guitar
• Standup Steve - electric bass

Devil's Advocate
• Rob Smith, Sherwood Lumsden - backing vox
• Tom Pechloff - Ace Tone Top-8 keyboard
• Ray Harris - electric guitar
• Standup Steve - percussion

Getting Smaller
• Lefty McRighty - swanky Gretsch guitar
• Stuart Rutherford - fiddle
• Sherwood Lumsden - backing vocals
• Standup Steve - baritone guitar
• Ernie - played the drums with his hands!

If I Knew Then
• Marie-Josee Houle - accordion, ethereal vox
• Mica Matsubara - trumpet

She Follows Me Wherever I Go
• John Cormier - electric guitar solo
• Tom Pechloff - piano

I Ain't Scared of Nothing
• Jack Arnold - saxophone
• Shawn Brown - electric guitar (right side)
• Rob Smith - backing vox
• Standup Steve - electric guitar (left side)

Foregone Conclusion
• Karolyne Lafortune, Stuart Rutherford - violin
• Rob Smith - backing vocals
• Standup Steve - bowed upright bass

Liar Liar Liar
• Jack Arnold - slushy trombone
• Peter Pritchard - jaw harp
• Standup Steve - bass harmonica, harmonica
• Alanna George, Greg Kelly, Marie-Josee Houle, Lefty McRighty, Patsy Clash, Al Wood, Rob Smith , Sherwood Lumsden , Sean Oliver, Peter Pritchard, Jamie Guitar, Karolyne Lafortune - backing vox

West Virginia Coal Mine
• Tom Pechloff - keyboard, backing vox
• Seamus Mulready - banjo, backing vox
• Rob Smith - backing vox
• Shawn Brown - B-Bender Telecaster
• Standup Steve - upright bass

Recorded, mixed and mastered May-December 2011 (”Coal Mine” April 2010) by Stephen K. Donnelly at TenVolt Audio, Ottawa, Canada

Photography: Michelle Parry Harris
Art Direction: Ray Harris & Michelle Parry Harris
Graphic Design: Stephen K. Donnelly

Hats off to... EVERYONE who keeps coming out to the gigs - gotta support live music! Jeb Bond, Tom Krukowski, Ian Cook, Brian Cote, Brooks Watson, Lefty McRighty, The Sin Sisters, The Elmdale Tavern, Cafe 349, Kaffe 1870, Irene's Pub, The Dakota Tavern, The Branch, all the good folks at CKCU FM, CHUO FM, CBC, CJHR FM & CHIP FM, Compact Music, The O-Town Hoedown, R.W. Haller, Mica Matsubara, The Lyric Theatre, Dave Griffin and all the fine people in Waycross GA.

Thanks to my family, especially my daughters Holly, Angela & Forrest... and of course Annabelle & Lt. Dan!

Heartfelt thanks to the BSOBs (past and present) for your dedication and friendship AND to all the musicians who gave so generously of their time and talent - I am honoured. Cheers!

Extra special thanks to Michelle Harris for the love, support, inspiration & sarcasm.

Contact: www.rayharrismusic.com


all rights reserved



Ray Harris Ottawa, Ontario

A veteran of the Ottawa music scene, Ray Harris is a prolific and likeable singer/songwriter/storyteller who describes his music as “Ameri-Canadiana” - his songs have been described as finely crafted, drawing comparison to master songsmiths. He wears his influences on his sleeve - incorporating elements of honkytonk country, rockabilly, folk and roots rock into a distinctly identifiable sound. ... more

contact / help

Contact Ray Harris

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Ray Harris recommends:

If you like Ray Harris, you may also like: